This project is read-only.

Confused about u:Update and ForView.Wrap

Sep 4, 2009 at 6:30 PM

In some of your demos you use u:Update and in other you just use Binding.

Also, in some demos you use

DataContext = ForView.Wrap(new PresentationThing(Thing));

and in others you use

DataContext = new PresentationThing(Thing);

Which do I want to use when and why?

Thanks!

- Brian

Sep 4, 2009 at 7:46 PM

The custom markup extension "u:Update" was the old way. It has been deprecated in favor of ForView.Wrap, which supports the standard markup extension "Binding".

To summarize, do not use:

• u.Update
  • DataContext = new PresentationThing(Thing);

Do use:

• Binding
  • DataContext = ForView.Wrap(newPresentationThing(Thing));
Sep 21, 2009 at 6:36 PM
Edited Sep 21, 2009 at 6:51 PM

Ok thanks! That worked out well.

One other thing... I'm trying to use this with the items in a TreeView and HierarchicalDataTemplate.Triggers.

I'm a little new to WPF and I was having a problem getting this to work with the TreeView... but, I thought I would ask if UpdateControls generally should work with this before I try to dig deeper.

- Brian

PS:  a TreeView sample would be wonderfull! :)

I'm trying to change the image when an item gets expanded and of course adding and removing things from the TreeView.

Sep 23, 2009 at 8:57 PM

Yes, Update Controls works well with TreeView. In fact, I'm finishing up a project right now that would make for great sample fodder. It includes a TreeView, among other interesting tidbits. I'll anonymize it and get it posted soon.

I haven't done the expanded image trigger, yet, but it seems that it should work. There is no interaction with Update Controls in this case, since the Trigger would be based on a property of the TreeViewItem, not of the view model.

Sep 23, 2009 at 9:07 PM

I'm using the expanded event to set a property in my view model. (and that property is tied back so I can programatically expand/unexpand a node).